Posted by: porridgebrain | May 20, 2009

Elliott ‘outed’ – but do we care?

I will repost here the news from the @elliottgraves blog http://whoissimeonhobbes.wordpress.com/

“META Update: And yes, in response to the recent news that this ARG is unofficial, I will confirm it. I do this with great reluctance because “TINAG” is one of the most important rules of the genre, and a Puppetmaster never likes coming out from behind the curtain, even when his legitimacy is called into question. But I felt the need to address it in light of the recent controversy and hijack attempts, because I don’t like the word “hoax.”

Playing an unofficial ARG inspired by an official property may be considered a waste of time to those only hoping for the real deal, so to them, I apologize and say farewell. But the truth is that I never envisioned this to be a hoax or a waste of time, at least in the sense that I planned quite a bit out ahead of time and did it because of a genuine love for the ARG medium and the epic story that is LOST. I didn’t do this for the laughs.

So on that note, “WISH?” will be continuing. Whether it continues with 20 people or 200 people in light of this recent news doesn’t matter to me, as we’re going to help Elliott find his brother regardless. But in order to distance ourselves the controversy, and leave the way open for a possible official ARG revelation at Comic-Con, please refrain from using the #lostarg hashtag on Twitter. #simeonhobbes will do, in order to prevent any confusion.

So there you go. Hopefully this post put an end to a lot of the confusion.”

So are we still playing? Hell yeah! Go for it Elliott!

Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this. I was about to do it myself. I think this should shut everyone up. Good for “Elliott” coming clean and good for him being willing to continue the game. A lot of people with disappear now that it’s officially unofficial, but even official ARGs have never been considered canon, they were just something fun to keep people occupied. So I don’t really see why this is any different.

    I, too, will continue to follow along.

  2. Good job on changing the name of the blog as well. I was about to do that.

    • Will put something up about the new #simeonhobbes feed too. You’ve GOT TO do a blog post soon about what you’ve been up to Mr TheEntrusted One. I haven’t laughed so much in a loooong time. Brilliant

      • Will do. Soon. Be ready for quite a ride!

  3. Whoops, logged into the wrong account thar.

  4. Not a hoax, but a well made fan ARG. I’m coming along for the ride.

  5. Oh god. I was so confused. Somehow I missed the update about your dual accounts Tandy. Whew. Glad I’m not going crazy. 🙂

  6. I’m game!

  7. ………….and I want email updates and forgot to check the little button…….

  8. Hi everybody!
    I’m trying to get back “IN-game” (thanks to “Elliott” and the other guys, anyway; it seems pretty funny, so I hope they will go on for a bit).

    Edmund Loom posted this on Twitter:

    There is but one solution to our madness @mrsmarkham @simeonhobbes @elliottgraves ביטוי הולם עבור כל הזמן

    According to Google Translator (ok, not the best source, but my friend that knows like 25 different languages is not available at the moment), it should mean something like:

    Adequate expression for all time

    … that is quite nonsense. I imagine we will need a better guess.

    Now I’m wondering: is Edmund Loom IN the “WISH?” game?

    Well, hoping to find some more evidence soon…

    (BTW, I’m Simone, or “arp”, but on WP I’ve this Lull-related alias)

    See ya :::arp

    • Edmund Loom has nothing to do with “WISH?”. Look at Elliott Graves’ blog to see exactly who is involved.

  9. Quick question… If Elliot is supposed to disappear by the time he is 27, why does his youtube page say he is 32?


Leave a Reply

Categories

